Board of County Commissioners

Board of County Commissioners

Jefferson County is governed by the Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners, with one county commissioner elected from each of the five districts.  Each Commissioner serves a four year term and is chosen in a partisan election by voters from the district in which the commission candidate lives.

Regular Meeting Notice
Topic: Regular Session of The Board of County Commissioners
Time: Dec. 16th, 2021 06:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)
Click Here for Agenda          Click Here for Agenda Packet
Meeting ID: 856 0384 8862          Passcode: 254584
One tap mobile
+19292056099,,85603848862#,,,,*254584# US (New York)
+13017158592,,85603848862#,,,,*254584# US (Washington DC)
Dial by your location
        +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)                         +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
Meeting ID: 856 0384 8862          Passcode: 254584

The Jefferson County Board of County Commission meets in the Courthouse Annex at 435 West Walnut Street, Monticello at p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of each month (unless otherwise scheduled).

For individuals requiring accommodations we ask that you complete and return the ADA Request Form

Meet the Commissioners
Not sure which commissioner represents your area? click here for District Map

                                          Chris Tuten 
          District 1

Gene Hall - Chair 
District 2

J. T. Surles 
District 3

Betsy Barfield - Vice Chair
District 4

Stephen Walker 
District 5

Services:   Agendas, meeting minutes, budgets and ordinances are available from the Clerk of Courts as well as general commission information.

Hours of Operation
8:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Contact the County Commissioners
1 Courthouse Circle
Monticello, FL (32344)
Fax: 850-997-6760 

From the manual "Government in the Sunshine," - Each board, commission, agency of this state or any political subdivision thereof shall include in the notice of any meeting or hearing, if notice of meeting or hearing is required, of such board, commission or agency, conspicuously on such notice, the advice that if a person decides to appeal any decision made by the board, agency or commission with respect to any matter considered at such meeting or hearing, he will need a record of the proceedings, and for such purpose he may need to ensure that a verbatim record of  the proceedings is made, which record includes the testimony and evidence upon which the appeal is to be based.